Department of Social and Economic Geography

About us

Geography as a separate discipline was established at Uppsala University in the year 1901. In the 1940's the subject was divided into two separate branches of physical and human geography. Human geography, in Swedish referred to as kulturgeografi or samhällsgeografi (Geography of Society), studies the relations and presence of phenomena that can be associated with human activities.

Visiting address:

Kyrkogårdsgatan 10, 4th floor (Ekonomikum), Uppsala

Postal address:

Box 513, 751 20 Uppsala, Sweden

For inquires:

Email: kanslie@kultgeog.uu.se
Telephone: +46 (0)8-471 2547 or +46 (0)18-471 25 28
Fax: +46 (0)18-471 74 18

Students office:

Email: studier@kultgeog.uu.se
Telephone: +46 (0)18-471 25 35
Fax: +46(0)18-471 74 18 
Office hours: Tue & Thu 09.30-11.30

Department Head:

Aida Aragao-Lagergren.
Phone: 018-471 3324
Aida.Aragao-Lagergren@kultgeog.uu.se

Deputy department head:

Jan Amcoff
Phone: 018-471 73 85
jan.amcoff@kultgeog.uu.se

director of undergraduate studies:

Peeter Maandi
Phone: 018-471 6357
peeter.maandi@kultgeog.uu.se

Director of Phd studies:

Susanne Stenbacka
Phone: 018 471 7957
Susanne.Stenbacka@kultgeog.uu.se

study counsellor:

Karin Beckman
Phone: 018-471 2535
studier@kultgeog.uu.se

geography education coordinator:

Jan Amcoff
Phone: 018-471 73 85
Jan.Amcoff@kultgeog.uu.se

Coordinator for the Bachelor program in social sciences:

Susanne Stenbacka
Phone: 018-471 79 57
Susanne.Stenbacka@kultgeog.uu.se

Coordinator for the bachelor program In urban and regional planning

Kjell Haraldsson,
Phone: 018-471 2533
kjell.haraldsson@kultgeog.uu.se

Catalogue administration:

Karin Beckman
Phone: 018-471 2535
karin.beckman@kultgeog.uu.se

HR officer:

Pamela Tipmanoworn
Phone: 018-471 6356
pamela.tipmanoworn@kultgeog.uu.se

Finance officer:

Lena Dahlborg
Phone: 018-471 2528
Lena.Dahlborg@kultgeog.uu.se

Webmaster:

Marat Murzabekov
Phone: 018-471 2541
marat.murzabekov@kultgeog.uu.se